Minutes from QEP Steering Committee Meeting October 20, 2017

Fayette Campus – Guthrie Smith Civic Room

Attendees: Dr. Reitha Cabaniss, Zonja Coleman, Nancy Earnest, Hollie Elmore, Dr. Leslie Hartley, Robyn Houston, Dr. Russell Howton, Dr. Melissa Mays, Dr. Janina Nobles, Toby Taylor, Sherry Terry, Dr. Wendy Wood, , Max Weaver, Dr. Wade Nixon

Absent: Mary Beth Barber, Dr. Kristie Ramsey, Dr. Steve Rizzo, David Wages

Dr. Hartley and Dr. Howton welcomed everyone and thanked them for serving on the important task of selecting the College's QEP topic. Background information was shared from when the initial QEP email was sent out from the President, Dr. Ennis, and the timeline for the QEP Steering Committee to complete its work. Once a topic has been finalized, the QEP Steering Committee will dissolve and a QEP Implementation Team and QEP Director will be named to begin the process of developing, writing, and implementing the QEP. The group was reminded that a QEP is focused on "improving student learning outcomes and/or student success."

The three topics being considered after input from both faculty and staff include:

- Critical Thinking
- Reading Comprehension
- Study Skills

The QEP Steering Committee was made aware that proposed changes to the SACSCOC standards will be voted on in December 2017 at the SACSCOC Annual Meeting and more information will be shared with the committee at that time should the QEP content or standard change.

Dr. Howton shared a rubric from the SACSCOC website addressing key indicators of an acceptable QEP. Also, Dr. Howton provided the SACSCOC website of QEP Summaries so that committee members could review executive summaries of past QEP from Track A institutions.

Dr. Howton informed the group that three sub-committees will be formed from this committee to brainstorm, research, and review College data from the three topics being considered. The groups will report to the committee in late January their findings and suggestions of a topic in their respective area. The sub-committees are as follows:

Critical Thinking	Reading Comprehension	Study Skills
Nancy Earnest	Mary Beth Barber	Zonja Coleman
Robyn Houston	Dr. Reitha Cabaniss	Hollie Elmore
Dr. Melissa Mays	Dr. Kristie Ramsey	Dr. Wade Nixon
Toby Taylor	Dr. Steve Rizzo	Dr. Janina Nobles
David Wages	Dr. Wendy Wood	Sherry Terry

In the coming days, Dr. Howton will provide each member with a template which provides the questions that need to be addressed by each subcommittee. Also, copies of survey questions will be provided to indicate the types of data that are collected from students.

Sub-committees used the remaining time to discuss and plan for their topic research.