Bevill State Community College
Employees Students Library BearMail Blackboard myBSCC A-Z Index


Second Opportunity System

The mission of SOS is to help out-of-school youth ages 16-21 gain the the skills and knowledge they need to become successful adults, capable of securing and retaining employment. In support of this mission, SOS counselors assist youth in receiving career assessment guidance, leadership development and referral services. Participants are also provided the opportunities to develop the necessary skills, values, and attitudes needed to be successful.


Available Services

The staff of Bevill State's Second Opportunity System will assist out-of-school youth ages 16-21 who meet program eligibility requirements to obtain the following:


  • Occupational skills training
  • Basic skills and GED preparation
  • College career training assistance
  • Tutoring
  • Counseling that emphasizes goal setting and career decisions
  • Leadership development and life skills
  • Career assessment
  • Employment assistance
  • Incentives

If you would like more information about services available through the Second Opportunity System youth program at Bevill State, please call toll-free 1-800-648-3271 or contact one of the following:


Martha Webster
Part-Time Counselor
205-932-3221 ext. 5675
mwebster@bscc.edu
Nelda Oswalt
Part-Time Counselor
205-932-3221 ext. 5676
nloswalt@bscc.edu

Joan Watkins
Career Coach
Fayette County
205-932-3221 ext. 5674
cawatkins@bscc.edu


Linda Marchbanks
Career Coach
Lamar County
205-695-8224
lmarchbanks@bscc.edu


Shannon Nichols
Career Coach
Marion County
205-921-3177 ext. 5678
snichols@bscc.edu
Tim Robinson
Career Coach
Pickens County
1-800-648-3271 ext. 5634
trobinson@bscc.edu

Sandi Sudduth
Career Coach
Walker County
205-648-3271 ext. 5833
ssudduth@bscc.edu
 

Eligibility

Students who wish to participate in the Second Opportunity System program will need to provide the following documentation and meet the following criteria for eligibility:

  • Must be a youth ages 16-21
  • Cannot be currently enrolled in high school
  • Must have proof of U.S. citizenship and be eligible to work and have a Social Security card
  • Males ages 18 -21 must be registered with Selective Services
  • Proof of low income by program guidelines
  • Must demonstrate meeting at least one of the following criteria: 1) deficiency in basic or job skills; 2) pregnancy or single parenthood;
    3) high school dropout; 4) homeless; 5) offender status; or 6) foster child
  • Must have a Social Security Card

he services and activities of the Second Opportunity System are federally funded by the Workforce Investment Act under the direction of the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs.

Community



The Bevill Community