Bevill State Community College
Employees Students Library BearMail Canvas myBSCC A-Z Index

BSCC Employees Recognized at Chancellor's Awards Luncheon

November 07, 2011

View Photo Album

Award winners at luncheon

Pictured l-r at luncheon are CeCe Hale, Dr. Anne McNutt, Autumn Adams and Robin Spann. Not pictured is Dr. Russell Howton.

Four Bevill State Community College employees were recently honored as college representatives in the 25th Alabama Community College System (ACCS) Chancellor Awards competition.  Dr. Russell Howton, Cecelia Hale, Robin Spann and Autumn Adams were recognized during an awards luncheon held in Montgomery.

The Chancellor’s Awards recognize individuals from each institution in the ACCS with the highest standards of professional performance and service among college employees. Each college within the system nominates employees in four categories—administrator, technical faculty, academic faculty and staff.

Dr. Russell Howton was chosen in the administration category. Howton began his career at Bevill State in 1999. During his time at the college, he has served as a wellness director, softball coach, instructor, college recruiter, assistant director and director of athletics, and is currently serving as the Director of Student Services on the Jasper Campus.  He serves on numerous national, state and institutional committees and is a very active with student activities and the BSCC Relay for Life team. He is a graduate of Bevill State and the University of North Alabama.  He holds both a Master’s and Doctorate degree from Mississippi State University.

Speech instructor Cecelia Hale claimed the academic faculty nomination. Hale has been employed at the college since August 2006.  She serves as the division chair for the Speech curriculum committee, Phi Theta Kappa advisor, and on several institutional committees. Hale is a leader in the distance education realm, initiating and developing the first speech course for both the online and hybrid environment. She is a graduate of the University of Alabama where she earned both her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees.

Representing the technical faculty was Robin Spann, nursing division chair on the Fayette Campus. Spann holds a Master of Science in Nursing from Samford University along with an Associate Degree in Nursing from Bevill State.  She has worked at the college for the past eight years, starting as a clinical associate in 2003. Spann has served on many college committees as well as made presentations at the state and national level. She is actively involved on the state level in the Alabama League of Nursing, serving as the member director, program director, and awards director for the ALN annual meeting. Her accomplishments include the Nursing Leadership Award from Bevill State, Samford University’s Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing Don F. Craft Award, and Samford’s Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing Alumni Award.

Student Services Office Assistant Autumn Adams was selected in the staff category. Adams gained her first career experience as a work-study student while she obtained her Associate in Applied Science degree in Office Administration.  During her seven years at the college, Adams has served as the business office cashier and currently, as the student services office assistant on the Sumiton campus. In this role, she helps students with enrollment, financial aid and registration. She is also the co-sponsor for the Bevill State Ambassadors.

“I am so proud of Bevill State’s faculty and staff and these nominees are shining examples of the type of employees we have at the college,” said Dr Anne McNutt, president. “Each individual has a different role, however, one common goal is apparent in their daily work and that is student success.”

   >> Return to News