Bevill State Community College
Employees Students Library BearMail Canvas myBSCC A-Z Index

Bevill State Employees Nominated for ACCS Chancellor's Awards

December 19, 2012
Dr. Leslie Cummings receives Chancellor's Award recognition

Dr. Leslie Cummings shown between Chancellor Mark Heinrich and State Board member Dr. Yvette Richardson at the 2012 Chancellor Awards ceremony.

Chad Bryant receives Chancellor's Award recognition

Chad Bryant shown between Chancellor Mark Heinrich and State Board member Dr. Yvette Richardson at the 2012 Chancellor Awards ceremony.

Kathy Boyd receives Chancellor's Award recognition

Kathy Boyd shown between Chancellor Mark Heinrich and State Board member Dr. Yvette Richardson at the 2012 Chancellor Awards ceremony.

Four Bevill State Community College employees were recently honored as college representatives in the 26th Alabama Community College System (ACCS) Chancellor Awards competition. Sherry Terry, Dr. Leslie Cummings, Kathy Boyd, and Chad Bryant were recognized during an awards luncheon held in Montgomery.

The Chancellor’s Awards recognize individuals from each institution in the ACCS with the highest standards of professional performance and service among college employees. Each college within the system nominates employees in four categories—administrator, technical faculty, academic faculty and staff.

Sherry Terry was chosen by her peers to represent the administration category. Terry began her career at Bevill State in 1993. During her time at the college, she has been employed as the Director of Public Relations. She serves on numerous regional, state and institutional committees and was recently honored with the Communicator of the Year award for the Alabama Community College System’s Public Relations Association and the National Counsel for Marketing and Public Relations’ District 2. She has been a guest presenter at several regional and national education conferences. Terry is a graduate of Bevill State and Stillman College and earned a Master’s degree in Higher Education Administration from the University of Alabama.

Psychology instructor Dr. Leslie Cummings was nominated for the academic faculty category. Cummings has been employed at the college since 2000. She serves as the collegewide division chair for Distance Education and on numerous state and institutional committees including the Alabama Community College Association’s executive committee. She is a frequent presenter in regional and national education conferences. Cummings was selected as the Sumiton Campus faculty of the year in 2005. She is a graduate of the University of Alabama, with a Master’s degree in Psychology and a Doctorate degree in Community College Leadership from Mississippi State University.

Chad Bryant, Automotive Technology instructor on the Hamilton campus, was chosen to represent the technical faculty. Bryant has been employed in his position with Bevill State since 2007. In 2011, he was selected as the Hamilton Campus faculty of the year. Bryant has taken the leading role in numerous college and advisory committees and has most recently worked to develop hybrid classes for high school students. He has achieved and maintained National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) certification for the benefit of his students and is an avid supporter of Skills USA.

Business Office employee Kathy Boyd was nominated to represent the staff category. Boyd began her career with Bevill State as a work study, part-time employee, and became a full-time employee in 1995. During her time with the College, she has held several positions in the collegewide business office including cashier, bookstore manager, facilities coordinator and purchasing. She serves on a variety of institutional committees and community organizations. Boyd is a Walker State Technical College graduate (now Bevill State) with an Associate’s degree in Data Processing.

“I am extremely proud of our great employees,” said Dr Anne McNutt, president. “Although each of these individuals has a different role, they all work as a team to make sure students are successful and have a great Bevill State experience.”

   >> Return to News