Bevill State Community College
Employees Students Library BearMail Canvas myBSCC A-Z Index

Bevill State-Sumiton celebrates outstanding students during 2013 Student Honors Ceremony

May 06, 2013

More than 100 students received outstanding honors and student recognitions at Bevill State Community College-Sumiton during Student Honors Night in April. Awards were presented to students who excelled in academic and technical divisions, students who achieved outstanding recognition in their fields of study and students who received transfer scholarships to four-year institutions.

Brandon Carter, Heather Hagy and Jeanette Buzbee were recognized as the Most Outstanding students in General Studies, Health Sciences and Career Technical Education for the Sumiton Campus. In addition, Donna Young and Bradley LeVan were recognized as the Sumiton Campus All-USA/All-Alabama Academic Team student nominees. The honors and awards presented during the ceremony were selected by the campus faculty and staff based on academic achievement, leadership, and service during the 2012-13 academic year.

Honors and awards were presented to the following individuals:
Outstanding General Studies Student-Brandon Carter
Outstanding Health Sciences Student-Heather Hagy
Outstanding Career Technical Education Student-Jeanette Buzbee

2013 All-USA/All-Alabama Academic Team student nominees:
Donna Young and Bradley LeVan

Academic Awards:
Outstanding Air Conditioning & Refrigeration student-Michael Patrick
Outstanding Associate Degree Nursing student-Kasey Stanberry
Outstanding Auto Body Repair Technology student-Hayden Freeman
Outstanding Automotive Technology student-Ryan Allred
Outstanding Business Office Management Technology student-Jeanette Buzbee
Outstanding Business student-Autumn White
Outstanding Child Development student-Miranda Brasfield
Outstanding Computer Science Information Technology student-Cory Cordell
Outstanding Cosmetology student-Samantha Richards
Outstanding Creative Writing student-Mark Smith
Outstanding Diesel Technology student-Wade Boyd
Outstanding Drafting Design Engineering Technology student-Christopher Sproul
Outstanding Economics student-Donald Hammonds
Outstanding Electrical Systems Technology student-Joshua Kimbrell
Outstanding Engineering student-Brandon Carter
Oustanding History student-Jennifer Parker
Outstanding Machine Tool Technology student-Caleb Jackson
Outstanding Mathematics student-Brandon Carter
Outstanding Practical Nursing student-Tracy Gamble
Outstanding Psychology student-Donna Young
Oustanding Speech Communications student-Auna Bailey
Outstanding Welding student-Adam Scott McGaha
Oustanding World Literature student-Ross Woods

2013 Transfer Scholarship recipients:
University of Alabama at Birmingham-Miah Daniel, Sharon Stell, Brandon Carter, Jordan Arguello, Salena Muncher, Miranda Quinn, Sterling Gardner, Dylan Gardner, Donald Hammonds, Madison Green, Sarah McMichens.
University of Alabama-Jordan Arguello
University of Montevallo-Auna Bailey

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges: Ryan Allred, Auna Bailey, Lisa Barrett, Paul Blackstone, Tameka Brown, Nathaniel Byrd, Thomas Cairns, Lindsey Cannon, Christen Carnes, Danielle Corbin, Cory Cordell, Michael Dotson, Leconyea Duncan, Dawn Dussetschleger, Lataria Flannigan, James Frost, Rebecca Gallahair, Jonathan Garrett, Jenna Humphrey, Latoya Jones, Laurie Martin, Adam McGaha, Sarah McMichens, Megan Moore, Jeffery Murphy, Kayla Nix, Michael Patrick, Hannah Peeples, Keith Ritch, Jamie Rosser, Bre’Anna Smith, Robert Staggs, Cynthia Thomas, Andrew Waldner, Shadonna White, Shane Wurster, Kaitlyn Zullo.

Bevill State Scholars: Delilah Atkins, Wade Anthony Boyd, Jeanette Buzbee, Kayla Cox, Sterling Gardner, Dylan Gardner, Paul Gillis, Alta Goolsby, Kimberly Grace, Madison Green, Brody Gurganus, Donald Hammonds, Horace Jones, Christopher Jordan, Larry McAdams, Shelia McGinnis, Larry Noblett, Stacy Poff, Miranda Quinn, Trenton Savage, Lisa Sims, Jacklynn Smith, Michael Smith, Kasey Stanberry, Nathan Stone, Michael Thomas Vines, Tara Waldrop.

Leadership Awards:
Ambassadors-Miranda Quinn, Salena Muncher, Dawn Dussetschleger, Madison Green, Joseph Kennedy, Katie Bryant, Auna Bailey, Jordan Arguello.
Moonbuggy Project-Erik Johnson, Blake Cain.
Phi Beta Lambda-Paul Blackstone
Student Government Association-Dawn Dussetschleger
Student Nursing Association-Laura Sizemore

Service Awards:
Ambassadors-Hunter King, Kaitlyn Nugent, Kayley Peters, Micah Barrett, Aaliyah Babbs, Kelby Bencko.
IAAP-Martha Headrick
Math Tutors-Sarah McMichens, Curtis Hammonds, Allyson Tuggle.
Moonbuggy project-David Joiner, Jessica Blain, Brandon Carter, Courtney Simmons, Jacob Pasco, Ethan Willis, Andrew Quiroga, Caleb Pair, James Wolfe.
Phi Beta Lambda-Jeanette Buzbee, Linda Mauldin, Amber Nicole Sanders, Donna Young, Paul Blackstone.
Student Government Association-Donna Young, Taylor Looney, Caitlin Swindle, Kelby Bencko.
Student Nurse Mentors-Hannah Peeples, Michael Dotson.
Work Study-James Borden, Paula Mills, Paul Blackstone.

Bevill State students celebrate Student Honors Night

Bevill State-Sumitonís highest honors went to (L-R) 2013 Outstanding General Studies student Brandon Carter, 2013 All USA Nominee Bradley LeVan, and 2013 Outstanding Career Technical Education student Jeanette Buzbee. Not shown-2013 Outstanding Healt

   >> Return to News