A A 🖶

Bevill State Community College Students Receive Honors

October 08, 2020

Preston Jones and Tyler Wilkins, both students from the Bevill State Fayette Campus, were named to the 2020 All-Alabama Academic Team.  All-Alabama Academic Team members are recognized for their distinguished academic achievements and leadership accomplishments. These students understand the responsibilities of being a scholar, alongside their role in community service. 

The All-Alabama Academic Team scholarship and recognition program exists to provide Alabama Community College System students funding to support education and training in pursuit of a successful career pathway and a recognition program to honor outstanding scholarly achievements.  The All-Alabama Academic Team Foundation manages, supports, and administers the All-Alabama Academic Team Scholarship and Recognition Program.   

Preston Jones, a recent graduate, was named the 2020 New Century Workforce Scholar for the state of Alabama and received a $1,250 scholarship.  

This scholarship is to support students at associate degree-granting institutions on a national scale as they plan to enter the workforce upon the completion of a degree or certificate. The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. 

“We believe education holds an extraordinary promise to change lives,” said Helen Smith Price, President, The Coca-Cola Foundation. “We hope that providing these college scholarships to deserving students will enable them to realize their full and unique potential.” 

New Century Workforce Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. Over 2,200 students were nominated from more than 1,200 college campuses across the country. Only one New Century Workforce Scholar was selected from each state.  

“We congratulate Preston for receiving this prestigious scholarship, and we are honored to partner with The Coca-Cola Foundation to recognize his outstanding achievements,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “Scholarship programs like this are integral for creating opportunities for students to succeed as they prepare to enter the workforce and for putting college completion within reach.” 

Preston also received the Carl A. Elliott, Sr. Student Achievement Award for the 2019-2020 academic year. This award is given to the most outstanding student from Bevill State, which includes all campuses, in recognition for student academic achievement, service to the community, and concern for the welfare of others.  

Tyler Wilkins was also named a 2020 Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar and will receive a $1,500 scholarship. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver, and 50 Bronze Scholars with nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each scholar also receives a commemorative medallion.  

Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership, and engagement in college and community service. “Bevill State is honored to recognize Preston and Tyler for their proven commitment to their educational goal and their service to the community, we are proud to call them Bevill State Alumni,” said Melissa Stowe, BSCC Dean of Students. 

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at ptk.org. 

“We are proud of the outstanding accomplishments of these students and are pleased they received scholarships and recognition for their hard work and academic success,” said Dr. Leslie Hartley, Dean of Instruction, Bevill State Community College. 

For more information contact Tana Collins-Allred at 800.648.3271 ext. 5742 or by email at tana.collins@bscc.edu.  Please visit our website at www.bscc.edu