A A 🖶

Bevill State Holds Commencement Ceremonies

May 23, 2016

Bevill State Community College recently hosted its commencement ceremonies. Friends, family and supporters celebrated the accomplishments of the 2016 graduates at each of the College’s four campuses.

Elected officials within the College’s service area served as commencement speakers at each graduation ceremony. State Representative Connie Rowe served as the speaker for Jasper’s ceremony, which took place May 6. State Representative Tim Wadsworth was the speaker on the Hamilton Campus’ exercises May 9. The Fayette Campus’ commencement speaker was State Rep. Kyle South on May 10. Alabama Senate Majority Leader Greg Reed addressed the Sumiton Campus commencement ceremony May 12.

This was the first commencement season for Bevill State Community College’s President Dr. Larry Ferguson. “Commencement is a very special time for our graduates. I am very proud of each of them. I join with our faculty and staff, our graduates, their friends and families to celebrate this milestone and wish the best for each as they begin the next chapter in their story,” said Dr. Ferguson.

Each year, a student is selected to deliver remarks for each campus. Students are selected based on a process and criteria set forth by the College. Delivering the student addresses this year were Paige Box, Hamilton; Brent Rickman, Fayette; Mandolin Madison, Jasper; and Anne Wolf, Sumiton.

In addition to the student recognition, an instructor from each campus received the Outstanding Faculty Award during each graduation ceremony. The award is presented to faculty members who exhibit care and concern for students, possesses commitment to excellence in teaching, and upholds the mission of the College. Faculty members of each campus vote to select the recipients. Robyn Houston, Cosmetology Instructor, received the award for the Sumiton Campus. John Measel, recently retired Computer Science Instructor, was honored as Fayette’s award winner. Cosmetology Instructor Kathy Wiginton received the award for the Hamilton Campus. Dr. Wendy Wood, math Instructor was recognized with the award from the Jasper Campus.